skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content

Body Piercing

Environmental Health

  •  239-690-2100



    Mailing Address

    2295 Victoria Avenue, #206 

    Fort Myers, FL 33901 


    TTY users can contact us through Florida Relay by dialing 7-1-1 or one of the other Relay Toll Free Numbers. 

Body Piercing 

Body piercing is an invasive procedure that may present the potential for infection. Not only can piercing lead to infections of the pierced site (especially if aftercare procedures are not followed), but it also has the potential to transmit blood borne pathogens, such as Hepatitis B, if minimum sanitary and safety standards are not met. The department also has developed a brochure containing 10 common questions related to body piercing. You can download the brochure or it is available by contacting the body piercing program.

Business Issues

In 1999, the Florida Legislature passed section 381.0075, Florida Statutes (F.S..), regulating the body-piercing industry. Chapter 64E-19, Florida Administrative Code [F.A.C..] prescribes the minimum sanitary and safety requirements related to the design, operation, and maintenance of body-piercing salons and temporary establishments.

Operators and piercers (defined in subsection 381.0075(2), F.S.. , and section 64E-19.002, F.A.C., respectively) must be trained in infection-control procedures prior to licensure of a body-piercing salon. Training courses are reviewed and accepted by the Department of Health, Bureau of Community Environmental Health, and are presented by individuals with the required knowledge, experience, and credentials.

License Application and Other Forms

In accordance with Chapter 64E-19, F.A.C.., body-piercing salons and temporary establishments require an operating license that is subject to annual renewal. Body-piercing licenses are issued by many of the Department of Health's county health departments. To apply for a license, complete the application form and submit it along with the required $200.00 license fee ($150.00 state fee plus $50.00 Lee County fee) to the Department of Health.

Owners and operators of body-piercing salons and temporary establishments also should have an injury-report form in the event of a report or complaint of injury. The completed form should be sent to the Lee County Health Department.

The following four forms are provided here as a service to assist body-piercing salons in complying with the record-keeping requirements of Chapter 64E-19, F.A.C.. Use of these specific forms is voluntary and is not required by the Department of Health. If you prefer to continue to use your present forms, please do so.